Brecon and Radnorshire MP Fay Jones has called on the Ministry of Defence to reconsider Brecon Barracks' future.

Following a review in 2016, the Ministry of Defence announced that is to close the British Army's Welsh headquarters in 2027.

Miss Jones has pledged to do all she can to prevent the closure adding that "now is the time to keep the pressure on".

Defence Secretary Ben Wallace said there will be an announcement shortly on the future of the historic army barracks.

Following her exchange with the Cabinet minister, the Conservative MP said: “As the headquarters of the Army in Wales, Brecon Barracks has been the centre for this vital work and the strategic importance of the site is hard to overstate.

“The Secretary of State was clear that we should expect an announcement imminently, and I firmly believe that now is the time to keep the pressure on. I will continue campaigning to keep the Brecon Barracks open and I urge the Secretary of State to reconsider the scheduled closure of the Barracks.”

County Times: The Army's Welsh headquarters in Brecon is due to close in 2027.The Army's Welsh headquarters in Brecon is due to close in 2027.

Miss Jones also paid tribute to Brigadier Andrew Dawes and the Army's work in supporting the ambulance service and vaccine roll-out in Wales.

“From running testing sites to driving ambulances, the Army has done a remarkable job in assisting our response to the coronavirus pandemic. I would like to thank Brigadier Andrew Dawes, and every member of the 160th (Welsh) Brigade who have helped over the past months," she said.

Last year, Miss Jones hosted a Westminster Hall Debate on UK Armed Forces: Wales’s Contribution, where she highlighted the "tragic" impact the Barracks' closure would have on the community.

She also raised the issue during the first ever virtual Prime Minister's Questions in April and has tabled written questions on the topic.

Miss Jones said she has remained in close contact with personnel based at the Barracks having visited the site four times since being elected in December 2019.