RHAYADER Town Football Club topped an online poll to celebrate the best clubs of the past century of the Mid Wales League.

During the past week the County Times has conducted a series of online polls for readers to vote for the best clubs from each of the past 10 decades from the 1920s through to 2020.

We start with the 1920s which began with Builth Wells being crowned champions in 1920 with Talgarth taking the title in 1921.

Llandrindod Wells won two back to back titles in 1923 and 1924 before Rhayader Town lifted the silverware in 1925.

Aberystwyth Town celebrated three successive titles from 1926 to 1928 before Llandrindod Wells won their third title of the decade in 1929.

In the poll Builth Wells received 59 per cent of the vote to proceed to the final round/

Meanwhile Rhayader Town won the first round of voting with 48 per cent of the vote against Aberystwyth Town with 38 per cent and Llandrindod Wells with 12 per cent.

Rhayader Town topped the final round of voting with 66 per cent against Builth Wells with 34 per cent.

The online poll marks the end of an era for the Mid Wales League as part of the Football Association of Wales (FAW) restructure.

Next season the Mid Wales League will operate eastern and western leagues at level four of the pyramid with four new nationally regionalised leagues being formed at level three.

Today (Friday) the FAW meet to confirm the composition of the four new regional third tiers with a host of Mid Wales League clubs meeting ground criteria and awaiting their fate.

See the back page of this week’s County Times.