AT LEAST one Powys County Council (PCC)  will be taking part in next month’s general election.

Cllr Amanda Jenner, who represents the Trewern ward, was chosen to be the the Conservative party’s Prospective Parliamentary Candidate (PPC) just over the county’s western border in Ceredigion.

Cllr Jenner revealed that she had been chosen on Friday night (November 8).

She said: “I’m absolutely delighted to be the Conservative candidate for Ceredigion.

“Me and my husband met at Aberystwyth Uni and I have such great memories of being there!

“I’m ready to start campaigning and get chatting to residents.”

Originally from Pembrokeshire, Cllr Jenner, a solicitor turned teacher, said that she was a student at Aberystwyth University and revealed that she has family connections in the Ceredigion market town of Tregaron.

Her fellow Conservative councillors were quick to take to social media to congratulate Cllr Jenner.

Cllr Iain McIntosh (Conservative-Yscir) said: “Well done Amanda this is great news.

“Good luck with your campaign, I’m sure you’ll do really well.”

Cllr Claire Mills (Conservative – Llanyre), said: “Best of luck Amanda, Ceredigion are lucky to have you. We will help and support you as much as we can.”

Ceredigion is the top Liberal Democrat target seat in Wales and they hope to win it back after Plaid Cymru’s win in 2017 when Ben Lake took the seat with a wafer thin majority of 104 votes.

The Lib Dem PPC had been its MP from 2005 to 2017.

The Conservatives came fourth in that election.

Ceredigion is the present day incarnation of the former Cardiganshire constituency which existed from 1541 to when it was abolished in 1983.

It became part of the Ceredigion and Pembroke North constituency.

It was recreated as Ceredigion in 1997.

The last time a Conservative was elected there is 1874.

The 2017 general election result was:

Ben Lake – Plaid Cymru – 11,623

Mark Williams – Liberal Democrat – 11,519

Dinah Mulholland – Labour – 8,017

Ruth Davies – Conservative – 7,307

Tom Harrison – UKIP – 602

Grenville Ham – Green Party – 542

The Crazed Sir Dudley – Monster Raving Loony Party – 157