A DUO has become a trio as Knighton county councillor Angelique (Ange) Williams, leaves the Independent group to join new political group, Action for Powys.

She was welcomed to the new group by Action for Powys (Action for Council Tax in Our Neighbourhoods) group spokesman Cllr Jeremy Pugh (Builth).

Cllr Pugh said: “Ange is a fantastic councillor with very strong views and we’re delighted that she has joined us.

“She is also the council’s disability champion.

“When we set up the group, we decided not to go out and approach people to join but explained what we stand for and let them make their own decision.”

Earlier in October it was announced that Cllr Pugh (Builth) and former cabinet member Martin Weale (Llanbadarn Fawr) had joined forces to create the group.

This follows the critical inspection by Estyn of the education service which saw the education portfolio holder, Cllr Myfanwy Alexander, moved sideways.

Two cabinet members resigned because she had not been removed, one of whom is Cllr Weale.

Their main policy at the moment is to try to keep any Council Tax hike for next year as low as possible as: “the people of Powys cannot afford excessive council tax.”

Following last week’s by-elections which saw Conservative Les Skilton elected in the Newtown South ward and Liberal Democrat Jake Berriman elected in Llandrindod North ward, the mathematics at County Hall stands at:

  • The Independent Group - 25
  • Conservative - 18
  • Liberal Democrat - 14
  • Labour - 7
  • Action for Powys - 3
  • Plaid Cymru - 2
  • Non-aligned - 2
  • Green - 1

Other changes in recent weeks has seen Cllr Mark Barnes (Newtown Llanllwchaiarn West) rejoin the Conservative group after a brief time as a non-aligned councillor.

Powys County Council is run by an Independent/Conservative coalition and the biggest opposition group is the joint Liberal Democrat/Green group.

The by-election for the Brecon St Mary’s ward is due to take place on Thursday, November 14.

There are five people standing in the election:

  • Grenville Morgan Ham - Plaid Cymru
  • Gareth Geoffrey Phillips – Independent
  • Liz Rijnenberg –  Labour
  • Alan Stephen Roberts – Conservative
  • Gareth Roberts – Liberal Democrats