Jane Dodds has been appointed a position in the new Liberal Democrat Shadow Cabinet.

The newly-elected Brecon and Radnorshire MP and Welsh Liberal Democrat leader said it is an "honour" to be named Shadow Minister for Wales and for Food and Rural Affairs by new leader Jo Swinson.

Brecon and Radnorshire AM Kirsty Williams is also in the Shadow Cabinet as a Spokesperson for Wales.

Ms Dodds said: “It is an honour to be given two vital roles in my party’s Shadow Cabinet. I look forward to highlighting Alun Cairns’ consistent failure to deliver for Wales and standing up for rural communities across Wales and the UK.

“I join an exceptionally strong Liberal Democrat team that is ready to continue leading the campaign to stop Brexit and create a fairer, freer and more liberal Britain.”

In announcing her Shadow Cabinet, Jo Swinson insisted that she has built a team that will provide “the real alternative our country needs”.

The leader of the Liberal Democrats also announced shadow cabinet roles for her predecessor Vince Cable, former Labour MP Chuka Umunna and leadership contender Ed Davey on Wednesday, August 21.

The Liberal Democrat Shadow Cabinet is 50/50 gender balanced and has a membership of 15 per cent black, Asian and minority ethnic (BAME).

Ms Swinson said: “I am proud to announce my new Liberal Democrat Shadow Cabinet to stop Brexit.

“Given the threats from nationalism and populism, more than ever before, people are crying out for a new vision for our country.

“This new team will take the fight to this right wing Conservative Government and provide, where Jeremy Corbyn’s Labour party have been absent, the real alternative our country needs."

She added: "This is also a team ready to offer the solutions to the big issues people face, to lead the Liberal Democrats as the strongest remain party into a General Election, and to win a People’s Vote.”

Here is a full list of the Liberal Democrats' shadow cabinet, following party leader Jo Swinson's announcement:

  • Jo Swinson - Leader
  • Ed Davey - Chancellor of the Exchequer; Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Chuka Umunna - Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs; International Development; International Trade
  • Christine Jardine - Home Department; Justice; Women and Equalities; Deputy Chief Whip
  • Tom Brake - Duchy of Lancaster (prep for No Deal); Exiting the European Union
  • Jamie Stone - Defence; Scotland
  • Vince Cable - Health and Social Care
  • Layla Moran - Education; Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
  • Wera Hobhouse - Climate Change; Environment & Transport
  • Tim Farron - Housing, Communities and Local Government; Work and Pensions; North of England (Northern Powerhouse)
  • Alistair Carmichael - Chief Whip; Northern Ireland
  • Jane Dodds - Wales; Food & Rural Affairs
  • Catherine Bearder - Europe
  • Siobhan Benita - London
  • Willie Rennie - Scotland
  • Kirsty Williams - Wales
  • Dick Newby - Leader of Lords
  • Sal Brinton - President of the Liberal Democrats
  • Norman Lamb - Chair of Science & Technology Select Committee
  • Sarah Wollaston - Chair of Health and Social Care Select Committee and Liaison Select Committee