The Montgomeryshire Agricultural Association held its annual presentation dinner at Llanfair Caereinion Leisure Centre on Friday, October 26.

In the region of 184 people attended and awards were presented to winners of 23 different classes. Association chairman Geof Langford said: “This has been another successful presentation dinner. It has been very pleasing to see so many young people attending and also receiving awards. The Association looks forward to establishing links with the local shows during 2019 to support its sustainability.”

“The Association is extremely grateful to the Wynnstay Group for its support and sponsorship of these competitions and the schedule produced to promote this successful annual event. The Association also wishes to thank the NFU for their sponsorship of the New Entrant Into a Farm Business Tenancy competition.”

The Association continues to forge links with the YFC movement and Coleg Powys/NPTC in order to sustain and move the Association forward. Tom Morris from Berriew YFC has been sponsored to attend the British Cattle Breeders Conference in Telford as a result of winning the Senior Stock Judging Competition for the second year running at the 2018 YFC Field Day and Kira Newey, an agricultural student at Coleg Powys/ NPTC was presented with a cheque for £75 as winner of the Farm Tendering Exercise.

Anyone requiring any information on the association can contact: association secretary Anne Breese on 01686 688917.

The winners and their categories are as follows:

Best Farmhouse Vegetable Garden: Wyn Jones, Rhallt Trefeglwys.

Best Farm House Flower Garden: Emyr Wigley, Old Stackyard, Cefn y Coed, Deytheur.

Conservation: Sustainable Farm Environment: David Trant, Maesmawr Hall, Guilsfield.

Hedge Laying: Hedge laid by Gareth Andrews for Emlyn Molyneux, Fach Hir, Brooks.

Equine: Sarah Tomkins, Hillside Eventing, Trewern.

Best on Farm Innovation: Martin and James Evans, Priddbwll Mawr, Llansantffraidd.

Arable: Best Field of Winter Barley: R C and J E Owen and Son Trewylan Ganol, Llansantffraidd. Best Field of Winter Wheat: Colin and Jonathan Trow, Great Hem Farm, Forden. Best Field of Spring Barley: J T Francis and Son, Pen y Gaer, Welshpool. Best Field of Maize: D and S Gethin, Gaer, Forden.

Beef: Best Pedigree Herd: Emyr Wigley, Old Stackyard, Cefn y Coed, Deytheur. Best Commercial Herd: Philip and David Jones, The Pant, Maesmawr, Welshpool.

Sheep: Best Flock of Pure Bred Hill Sheep: Will Hughes, Brynffynnon, Llanidloes. Best Flock of Commercial Sheep: Alun Jones, Red Gwenthrew, Sarn. Best Flock of Pedigree Sheep: Phil May, Derwen Green, Four Crosses.

Dairy: Large Herd: Martin and James Evans, Priddbwll Mawr, Llangedwyn. Medium Herd: Andrew Thomas, Gwyns Barns, Leighton. Small Herd: Phil Astley, Cefn Farm, Deytheur.

Best Managed Farm 250 Acres and Over: The Owen Family, Red House Aberhafesp.

Best managed Farm 249 Acres and Under: David and James Best, Pentrego, Guilsfield.

Best Organic Farm: Eifion Davies, Ty Gwyn, Llanbrynmair.

New Entrant into a Farm Business Tenancy (Aged 40 and Under): Wil Jones, Cefn Hilin, Berriew.

Points Cup: Martin and James Evans, Priddbwll Mawr, Llangedwyn.