With just 50 days to go until Christmas, Powys County Council has confirmed their refuse collection dates over the holiday period.

Recycling and refuse collections for Powys householders and the council’s trade waste customers will be later than usual during Christmas and the New Year, the county council has confirmed.

Collections will take place two days later during Christmas week and then one day later during New Year week.

Collections due on Christmas Eve (Monday, December 24) and New Year’s Eve (Monday, December 31) will take place as usual.

Normal collection day / Collection will be

  • Tuesday, December 25 (Christmas Day) / Thursday, December 27
  • Wednesday, December 26 (Boxing Day / Friday, December 28
  • Thursday, December 27 / Saturday, December 29
  • Friday, December 28 / Sunday, December 30
  • Tuesday, January 1 (New Year’s Day) / Wednesday, January 2
  • Wednesday, January 2 / Thursday, January 3
  • Thursday, January 3 / Friday, January 4
  • Friday, January 4 / Saturday, January 5

Powys County Council is also encouraging households to reduce, reuse and recycle as much of their household waste as possible.

Cllr Phyl Davies, Cabinet Member for Waste and Recycling, said: “Christmas is one of the most joyous times of the year but it can also generate a lot of waste. It is important that households recycle as much as they can over this period so they don’t run out of space in their black wheeled bin or purple sacks.

“By recycling your waste wherever possible, we can reduce the amount sent to landfill and also help to achieve the strict recycling targets set by Welsh Government.”