Eleven people from Powys have received honorary awards from The Royal Welsh Agricultural Society for their exceptional service.

Every year the society recognises the contribution of members, mainly for their voluntary work, which have spanned at least three decades.

Among those to receive the honorary awards from this year’s President, Tom Tudor and his wife Ann, were a former bomb disposal expert, the leader of Powys County Council, a former chairperson of the National Eisteddfod, and a ‘dedicated’ tea lady.

John Vaughan of Llanerfyl, who had earlier in the day officially opened the show with his wife Beryl, was given an Honorary Life Vice-Presidency award.

County Times:

John was awarded the Society’s Silver Medal in 2001.

He was Assistant Honorary Director of Editorial and Publicity in 1986 and subsequently became Chair of Finance, a role he still carries out today.

John chaired the Montgomeryshire Advisory Committee for 25 years and is also an active Board Member.

Beryl Vaughan was also honoured at the award ceremony on the first day of the Royal Welsh Show in Llanelwedd.

County Times:

She was awarded an Honorary Life Governorship for supporting the society for over 30 years.

Beryl has been a steward in the press office since 1988 and continues to be “passionate, enthusiastic and energetic”, ensuring that members of the press and media.

Beryl was praised for her support of all society events and activities, having raised a significant amount of money for the show, National Eisteddfod and more.

Powys County Council leader Cllr Rosemarie Harris from Libanus was awarded an Honorary Life Governorship for her multiple roles within the society as a board member, a former member of enterprises, the organiser of floral art in the Winter Fair, as well as her work as senior steward for the horticultural section of the show during her 33 years of service.

County Times:

Cllr Harris, with a small committee, has developed the floral art section of the show into “one of the best of its kind” in the UK.

Former bomb disposal operative from Builth Wells Major Peter Holtorp was also awarded an Honorary Life Governorship.

With over 35 years of service to the society, Peter has given outstanding service to the society in the horse section as senior steward in the collecting ring.

Major Holtorp had a distinguished career as a former bomb disposal operative in Northern Ireland and previously worked for the United Nations.

Honorary Life Memebership

Winners of the Honorary Life Membership were D Haydn Jones of Llanbadarn Fynydd, Beulah’s Heather Davies and Davina “Dee” Rees of Aberedw. 

Haydn Jones has dedicated over 50 years to the society, starting as a steward in the lamb carcass competition and since 1982 he’s been a senior steward in the NSA Pavilion wool and demonstrations.

County Times:

Haydn was also the host of the 2014 Royal Welsh Grassland Event at his home in Llanbadarn Fynydd.

Heather Davies of Beulah worked for the society from 2003 until her retirement as admin assistant and receptionist last year. Heather also provided the secretarial support for the Welsh Ploughing Association and Welsh Ploughing and Hedging Championships. 

Dee Rees from Aberedw worked for the society from 2002 until her recent retirement.

County Times:

Dee worked as receptionist and Administration Assistant especially supporting judges and disabled facilities.

Dee’s friendly demeanour resulted her being voted most ‘well liked’ in a social media survey. 

Society Awards

The Crystal Rose bowl was awarded to Miriam Jones, of Builth Wells, who has given many years of dedicated service to the society as a wonderful ‘tea lady’ and friend. 

County Times:

She lavished many committees and staff with homemade cakes and delicacies which are very much missed.

Rosemary Heigl Williams, of Ross on Wye, a recipient of the Crystal Rose bowl, and Edward Morgan, of Pencelli near Brecon, were awarded for their service to the society.

Long Service Medal

County Times:

Forden’s Michael Derek Bolderston, 58, was awarded a long-service medal by the Royal Welsh Agricultural Society for his 43 years of service within the industry, with Griffiths Farm Partnership for 39 years and most recently for R E Cookson & Son for four years.