THE MAJOR trophies which will be presented to winners at the upcoming Eisteddfod Powys bro Hafren 2018 have been unveiled.

At the Crescent Christian Centre in Newtown the trophies were form,ally handed over to the Eisteddfod organisers by the makers and sponsors of the award.

The Chair has been donated in memory of Thomas Gwilym Evans of Adfa, by his family.

It was designed and made by Chris Gethin who explained that the chair had been made from local oak and ash and the ash was used to help usethe art of bending wood for the design.

The Crown was presented by Nia Roberts on behalf of on behalf of Newtown Merched y Wawr and is designed and made by John Price of Machynlleth and uses the Merched y Wawr colours, blue for the cap and yellow gold of the daffodils.

The trophy for the Teams of Primary School Poets and the trophy for young authors Under 25 years of age were presented by Marlis Jones of Caersws and they are sponsored by herself and her husband.

Delma Thomas presented the trophy for Welsh Learners on behalf of Clwb Clonc Caersws.

All three trophies were designed and made by Kym and Pawl of Commins Coch, using the art of Pyrography on local oak.

President of the Eisteddfod Powys Association, Trefor Owen, thanked everyone for their support to the Eisteddfod, and expressed his appreciation of everything he had witnessed at the meeting.

He also referred to the celebrations that were planned for its Two Hundredth Anniversary in 2020. He urged the ‘young’ people in the audience to ensure the future of the Eisteddfod.

Held at Theatr Hafren, The Eisteddfod is set to take place on Friday, July 20 with a morning session starting at 10am and an evening one starting at 6pm with the Crowning Ceremony taking place at 7pm.

On Saturday, July 21, sessions start at 10am when the Gorsedd will meet, the Chairing ceremony takes place at 3pm and the evening sessions starts at 6pm.