Labour gain seat on Welshpool Town Council as three new members were elected last night.


Elgan Hearn

THREE  NEW members have been elected to Welshpool Town Council.

Last night at Welshpool Town Hall, Carol Robinson won the Gungrog Ward from Ben Gwalchmai by a majority of 60 votes.

In the Llanerchyddol ward, two out of four councillors were elected, and they are Alison Davies and Labour’s Nicola Morris.

Powys County Council election officials said that polling had been “steady” during Thursday morning but had tailed off during the afternoon.

This means the Town Council has 12 Independent Councillors, two Liberal Democrats, Labour and Plaid Cymru both have one each.


Carol Robinson (Independent) – 160

Ben Gwalchmain (Welsh Labour) – 100


Alison Davies (Independent) – 206

Nicola Morris (Welsh Labbour) – 197

Thomas Howl (Independent) – 124

Shantal Kay (Welsh Liberal Democrats) – 71



See full story in the County Times

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read