Sagar crowned Sports Personality of the Year


Gavin Grosvenor

TOM Sagar was crowned 2015 Montgomeryshire senior sports personality of the year at Newtown’s Hafren theatre on Friday.

The enduro ace from Newtown ended 2015 as European champion while finishing fourth in the British Championship.

It was the second time Sagar has lifted the coveted senior sports personality of the year award having also won it in 2013.

Sagar said: “I am delighted to win the award. It’s nice to receive such recognition from other sports people and many thanks to everyone.”

The junior awards were divided into three sub-categories with under 18s, under 14s and under 12s.

The under 18s winner was Llanidloes hurdler Lauren Williams who is currently ranked UK number one at under 17s level.

Williams’ stellar 2015 included winning the Welsh Championships and Welsh Schools Championships before claiming three medals at the Celtic Games, while breaking a nine year record at the England Championships.

The under 14s winner was Ryan Lewis of Llanfyllin who is the Welsh No1 under 13s squash player, after winning the junior championships, and represented Wales in 2015 while also being part of the national training squad.

Up and coming footballer Paris Schofield from Guilsfield won the under 12s award in recognition of her fine year in the colours of Aston Villa girls.

The former Welshpool and TNS youngster trains twice a week as part of the Villains centre of excellence while also helping her school, Guilsfield to success in the Urdd National Football competition.

Ben Johnson-Rolfe won the disabled sports personality of the year award in recognition of his success in two paralympic sports.

The teenager, a member of Clywedog Sailing Club, is in the GB para sailing squad which is currently preparing for the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics and is also part of the Welsh wheelchair tennis squad.

Welshpool-based Dolly Mixtures Running Club was named club of the year in recognition of its role in helping women into running.

Meanwhile Lisa Trigg of Newtown and District Netball Club, which is based in Welshpool, was named coach of the year.

Trigg has been involved with the club for 30 years and been at the forefront of its expansion with more than 80 members aged between eight and 50 all competing in local leagues or regular friendlies.

In 2015 the club entered a team into the under 17 inter club competitions for the first time and it is hoping to enter teams into the other age groups.

Trigg also coaches the county under 14s teams and helped two members make the step up to the national squad, while her latest initiative has been to increase netball provision in Newtown itself.

Bronwen Poole was named volunteer of the year in recognition of more than 30 years service to Welshpool Sharks Swimming Club.

A fully qualified Swim Wales judge and official, Poole regularly travels the length and breadth of Wales and England to officiate at swimming galas while working tirelessly as chairman of her local club.

Newtown’s Grace Powell claimed the young sports leader award after a year spent dedicated to sport.

As well as playing for Newtown Hockey Club the teenager is a gold sports ambassador and dedicated herself to raising the participation rates of young people in physical activity at Newtown High School.

Guilsfield’s Emilie and Oliver Gwilt won the senior team award having won the Welsh Senior Nationals Mixed Champions and are currently Wales’ ranked number one in Seniors Mixed Doubles badminton.

The junior team award was won by Welshpool High School’s wheelchair bastketball team which won the first ever Wales Inclusive Zone Basketball (IZB) Finals in Cardiff, while ending the British Championships in seventh place.

Meanwhile services to sport awards were presented to Newtown Cricket Club’s Dai Brown, Graham Jennings of Newtown Karate Club and Caroline Orrells of Maldwyn Harriers Athletics Club.

Two new awards were also presented by Gareth Oldham (left), Powys County Council’s first and last sports development manager following his retirement in 2015 after 30 years of unstinting service.

Two awards were made to schools which achieved sporting excellence in 2015 with Buttington Trewern the primary school winners, while Welshpool High School were awarded the high school prize.

Cllr Graham Brown, Powys County Council’s Cabinet Member for Sports Development, said: “This year’s award were of the highest calibre and it just shows how many talented and dedicated sports people we have.

“I would like to congratulate the winners of this year’s awards, who fully deserve their accolades, but also everyone who was nominated. We are extremely privileged to have so many talented sports people in the area.”

See full story in the County Times

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read