Tigers’ MWL bid tamed by FAW


Gavin Grosvenor

TREWERN Football Club’s bid to join the Spar Mid Wales League has been rejected.

The Tigers had hoped to fill a vacancy in the second division but the Football Association of Wales (FAW) rejected the application due to the club playing two leagues below last season.

The FAW ruled clubs would no longer be able to make more than one step up the pyramid to fill vacancies.

Trewern accepted the decision and consoled with promotion to the first division of the J T Hughes Montgomeryshire League following their first season back in existence.

A club statement read: “We understand the reasoning, but it was clear from the beginning of our application what league we were applying from, so we are disappointed to only hear this now.

“Especially as only 12 months ago as many as two teams were allowed to make the step up from level six to level four.

“We cannot thank league secretary Phil Woosnam and the Mid Wales League enough for all of their help, and passing us on the criteria after all of our hard work.

“To be accepted by the Mid Wales League itself, but not by the FAW is a confusing decision.

“Let's hope we can challenge at the top end in Montgomeryshire League Division One and gain promotion the usual way. We are still very happy with our progress after just one year and our aim remains to work our way up the pyramid.”

Due to the resignation of Four Crosses and the U-turn of South Cardiganshire League side Newcastle Emlyn, the second division will run with 14 clubs next season.

Hay St Marys also dropped down from Spar Mid Wales League One, exchanging places with Borth United who ended third in Spar Mid Wales League Two last season.

Spar Mid Wales League Two also accepted two new members from the Watson Financial Mid Wales League (South) with Brecon Northcote and Talgarth Town stepping up.

The Spar Mid Wales League One composition next season is (16 clubs): Llanfair United, Carno, Berriew, Llanrhaeadr, Aberaeron, Bow Street, Llanidloes Town, Knighton Town, Tywyn Bryncrug, Llandrindod Wells, Radnor Valley, Borth United, Machynlleth, Welshpool Town, Kerry, Churchstoke.

Spar Mid Wales League Two composition (13 clubs): Montgomery Town, Hay St Marys, Dolgellau Athletic, Newbridge, Aberystwyth University, Dyffryn Banw, Builth Wells, Abermule, Llansantffraid Village, Presteigne, Penybont, Talgarth Town, Brecon Northcote.

See full story in the County Times

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read