Davies is difference in league cup final battle


Gavin Grosvenor

Spar Mid Wales League Cup Final

Berriew 1

Llanrhaeadr 0

RICHARD Davies was the match winner as Berriew edged Spar Mid Wales League Cup glory over Llanrhaeadr at Carno on Saturday.

A tight final was decided with nine minutes remaining when Karl Seliaerts squared for Davies to drill home from 16 yards to the delight of the Rhiewsiders following.

However Berriew’s cup triumph was much owed to its defence which soaked up near constant pressure from Llanrhaeadr for much of the second-half.

Teenage goalkeeper Danny Foulkes also earned plaudits for several vital saves as Berriew held out under a torrent of pressure before snatching glory through Davies’ winner.

The Rhiewsiders edged the first-half possession and chances with Davies twice denied by goalkeeper Harry Matthews.

Matthews was fortunate when caught out of position midway through the half only for Rob Pritchard to snatch his effort and lob wide of an open goal from 30 yards.

Llanrhaeadr had the better openings with Iain Edmunds denied by the woodwork and Iwan Matthews testing Foulkes.

It was all Llanrhaeadr after the break with Matthews denied by the woodwork while also forcing Foulkes to save at his feet as Berriew were put under the cosh.

However with just nine minutes remaining the Rhiewsiders staged an attack from a long throw with Seliaerts cutting inside and squaring for top scorer Davies to fire home.

Llanrhaeadr never recovered from the set-back as Berriew comfortably saw out the remainder of the game to lift the cup.

Manager Dave Jones said: “I’m pleased, I think we deserved it for our defensive work in the second-half. Ross Harris and Rhys Stephens were absolutely immense and Danny Foulkes showed why he is so rated.

“It’s harsh on Llanrhaeadr who had the second-half but we worked hard and got what we deserved.”

BERRIEW: Foulkes, G Davies, Pearce, Stephens, Harris, Carroll, S Roberts, Pritchard, R Davies, Seliaerts, Bumford. Subs: Gittins, D Jones, D Roberts, Docherty, Prince

LLANRHAEADR: H Matthews, Brayne, Bailey, Kelly, M Evans, Edmunds, Owens, K Evans, I Matthews, Aitken, T Evans. Subs: Sefton, France, Hall, Burgess, Griffiths

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read