Powys Business Awards 2016: Full list of categories and finalists


Jonny Drury

TV’s favourite weatherman Derek Brockway will host this year’s Powys Business Awards.

The BBC presenter’s interest in the weather began as a young boy growing up in Barry during the long, hot summer of 1976. He went on to join the Met Office, and in 1995 Derek moved to London to work in the world of television preparing the ITV National Weather and Channel 4 weather. He has also broadcast on GMTV's 'The Sunday Programme'.

Derek has had a lifetime fascination with the weather and has presented a number of TV shows including 'Derek's Welsh Weather' and 'Weatherman Walking'. 

He is a keen walker and has published books, and will now present the awards on September 30 at the Infantry Battle School, Dering Lines in Brecon, and tickets can be purchased via the website. 

The finalists for the 2016 Powys Business Awards are:

Team Achievement Award sponsored by The Cambrian News & Brecon & Radnor Express:

  • Cellpath Limited, Newtown 
  • Trax JH Limited Newtown
  • Stadco Powys, Llanfyllin

Start-up Business Award sponsored by The County Times:

  • The Duck’s Nest, Presteigne 
  • Mid Wales Holiday Lets, Rhayader
  • Turvec Solutions Limited, Welshpool

Micro Business Award sponsored by FSB:

  • Hilltop Honey, Caersws
  • Monty’s Brewery, Montgomery 
  • Sporting Hares, Berriew

Entrepreneurship Award: 

  • Ashford Price, Dan Yr Ogof The National Showcaves for Wales, Brecon
  • Bryn Evans, Fresh Inns Limited, Garthmyl
  • Joanna Morgan, Radnor Preserves, Caersws

Growth Award sponsored by Finance Wales:

  • CellNass, Newtown
  • Quartix, Newtown
  • Sharp Clinical, Crickhowell

Agricultural Business Award sponsored by Lanyon Bowdler Solicitors:

  • Agri Advisor Solicitors, Welshpool
  • MWMAC Limited, Rhayader
  • NFU Mutual Welshpool

Leisure, Tourism & Hospitality Award sponsored by NPTC Group:

  • Cantref Adventure Park, Brecon
  • Dan Yr Ogof The National Showcaves for Wales, Brecon
  • MacDonald Plas Talgarth Resort, Machynlleth
  • Welshpool Air Show Limited, Welshpool

Social Enterprise/ Charity Award sponsored by Mid-Wales Housing Association Ltd:

  • Crickhowell Resource & Information Centre, Crickhowell
  • Dulas Limited, Machynlleth
  • Hope Church, Newtown

International Trade Award sponsored by Mid Wales Manufacturing Group: 

  • Invertek Drives Limited, Welshpool
  • Quartix, Newtown
  • Sharp Clinical, Crickhowell

Technology & Innovation Award sponsored by RES: 

  • Invertek Drives Limited, Welshpool
  • PixelHaze, Builth Wells
  • Plant i Limited, Machynlleth

Manufacturing Award sponsored by Myrick Training Services:

  • Compact Orbital Gears, Rhayader
  • Radnor Hills Mineral Water Company, Knighton
  • Sanderson’s Fine Furniture & Joinery Ltd, Four Crosses

Excellence in Customer Service Award sponsored by Alun Griffiths (Contractors) Ltd:

  • Nailed It!, Welshpool
  • Plant i Limited, Machynlleth 
  • Victoria-Lynn Hair & Beauty, Builth Wells

In addition to the 12 category awards a Judges’ Special Award, sponsored by Sodexo, and the overall Powys Business of the Year 2016 Award, sponsored by Powys County Council, will be announced at the awards evening.

The awards celebrate excellence in business in the county and brings recognition in the local and regional business communities.

More information can be found at www.powysbusinessawards.co.uk

See full story in the County Times

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read