Dafabet Welsh Premier


Bangor City 0

TNS clinched their sixth consecutive Welsh Premier League title and 11th in their history after thrashing Bangor City at Park Hall on Saturday.

With Bala Town held to a draw by Gap Connah’s Quay on Friday night, the runaway league leaders knew a win would assure yet another title.

The first chance fell the hosts way in the third minute after Jon Routledge picked up a loose clearance and linked with Simon Spender before squaring to Ryan Brobbel whose effort was gathered at the second attempt by Connor Roberts.

At the same end six minutes later, a long clearance from Paul Harrison found Spender on the right but his whipped low cross evaded Wes Fletcher at the near post.

Bangor’s first chance came on 13 minutes as Henry Jones’ cross found Gary Taylor-Fletcher at the far post but his header from nine yards was superbly parried away by Paul Harrison.

There was drama at both ends on 24 minutes when Spender’s low ball found Jamie Mullan who crossed for Fletcher only for Roberts to brilliantly save from point blank range before City broke with Taylor-Fletcher unleashing a shot at Harrison to smother.

The open half continued with Jamie Mullan and Steve Saunders denied by Roberts while Taylor-Fletcher’s close range header was tipped over by Harrison at the other end.

TNS led on the stroke of half-time with Routledge releasing Mullan on the right to cross for Adrian Cieslewicz to slide into the net from six yards.

The Saints wrapped up victory and the title courtesy of an electric start to the second-half.

Brobbel’s left wing cross fell for Mullan to fire home from close range before Saunders rose on the far post to head home Brobbel’s left wing corner moments later,

Bangor’s heads dropped while their fitness badly faded, leaving Mullan with the freedom of Park Hall to turn past Sion Edwards and lash home a fourth on 66 minutes.

The remainder of the game fizzled out as a contest as City fans departed early with the game becoming almost a training match for the home side before the players led TNS’ annual title celebrations.

TNS: Harrison, Pryce, Spender, Marriott, Routledge, Brobbel, Fletcher, Mullan, Saunders, Rawlinson, Cieslewicz. Subs: Parry, Quigley, Ashworth, Wycherley.

Att – 232